From Nyborg the tour continues along the water passing Hotel Nyborg Strand, one of Denmark’s leading education and conference centres, and onwards to Teglværksskoven from where there are several walking paths to the coast. The county institution Strandhøj has a beautiful and varied park with public access.
At the vacation home area at the fishing village Skaboeshuse, the trip continues inland for a while, but at Nordenhuse the visitor is once again at Storebælt. In the past the fishermen pulled their boats on shore with a winch that still exists. The area is characterized by neatly decorated older holiday houses ‘a miniature
Risinge & Lundsgård Klint
After Nordenhuse the ride continues over Bovense to Risinge. The main building of the Risinge manor is from the 18th century. The building is a timbered construction, which has a square tower in the middle with a pyramid-shaped roof. The main building was erected around 1661 at the founding of the three-farm village of Risinge. Risinge was also selected as an appropriate location for a nuclear plant, when Denmark’s energy expansion was being planned in the mid-1970s. The plans, however, were upset by popular opinion and for this reason Denmark and hence Risinge did not get its nuclear plant.
Shortly before Kerteminde the bike ride continues through Storskoven. From the lay-by there is access to Lundsgård Klint (“Lundsgård Cliff”), which is 900 metreslong and from where visitors can enjoy the view and in clear weather see the coast of Sealand. Behind the cliff lies a nice forest area suitable for hikes. During the summer there are many interesting birds in the forest such as the golden oriole and the red-backed shrike. In the middle of the forest is the Jomfruhøjen, a good example of a mound from the Middle Ages. The following legend is associated with the place: Three beautiful virgins were betrothed to three knights, but were worshipped by three new suitors. Because their betrothed were on military duty, there was no one there to protect the virgins from the new suitors and the virgins hid at the mound in the forest. When the suitors finally found their hiding place, the three virgins chose to take their own lives.
Upon exiting the forest one will come across the Lundsgård manor. The mound Jomfruhøj is probably where Lundsgård was located in the Middle Ages. Through time the area has been hit by flooding, which is the reason the groynes of Storebælt were reinforced. The current main building is from 1765 and is built in a Rokoko style. A small forest road leads around the manor and past much more recent farm buildings.
The city used to be Funen’s most important harbour city and today the fishing harbour still plays an important role in the city’s life.
The statue of the fisher girl ‘Amanda’ located at Langebro is the city’s landmark. In the narrow streets there are several protected strokes, and a building from 17th century houses the city museum. Fiskergade is an example of a street with picturesque facades full of fantasy.
The city also offers a museum featuring the works of painter Johannes Larsen worth a visit. Johannes Larsen is particularly renowned for his bird drawings. The city also houses the Fjord- og Bæltcentret (“The Inlet and Belt Centre”), where research and stories of the sea environment in Storebælt are important ingredients. A 50-metre tunnel under the sea surface provides an opportunity to study the animal and plant life of Storebælt, and there is also a large outdoor pool with porpoises and seals.
Kerteminde tourist agency provides bicycles for rent.
The price of renting a bicycle for a day is DKK100 and DKK500 for a week.
Both adult and kids bicycles are available